Grad Life

Soo… I’ve decided to add a new category to my blog. Yup you guessed it… Grad Life. I don’t talk about it a lot, but as a Ph.D. candidate in Applied Mathematics, I’ve had my share of ups and downs when it comes to graduate school. I thought it might be helpful to anyone considering  or currently in graduate school to hear about some of my experiences. Believe me when I say I’ve experience the good, the bad, and the ugly in grad school. It wasn’t necessarily the coursework that can bogged me down, but the weight of life. Finding a healthy work-life balance was ESSENTIAL for me. I seriously cannot stress that enough. Grad school can be tough no doubt, but if you have a good support system and an outlet to relieve stress you’ll be just fine.

The good part will come with hard work and perseverance. When your work is recognized by individuals in your field, it is one of the most rewarding feelings. Always cherish those moments. They’re what will keep you focused when times get tough, and inevitably they will get tough. Don’t be afraid to talk to other grad students both in and outside of your program. Voice your opinions. Talk about your frustrations. The bottom line is talk to people who understand what you’re going through. You are not alone. Hard work always pays off and you will be rewarded with the Master’s/Ph.D. in the end 🎉. You might even end up with some publications and awards along the way 🙌🏾.

Grad school has taught me so much about myself, and I’m grateful for the opportunity to even be here. Stay tuned for more tips and advice about life as a graduate student.

Leave a Reply

