Natural Hair Talk Pt. 1

When it comes to natural hair you can say I’m a bit obsessive. I love all types of curls whether they are wavy, kinky, coily, or a combination. I even have a Pinterest board named Black Hair: BGR that celebrates the beauty and versatility of Black hair. I love that so many Black girls are embracing their natural hair, and shamelessly rocking their gorgeous curls. I’ve been natural my whole life, but within the last 3 years I’ve fully embraced my curly fro. I rarely straighten my hair these days. We are not our hair, but in a way, my natural hair has become a part of who I am. I always joke with my friends that people love my hair more than they love me 😂. But seriously, there’s just something about a big afro that makes me feeling unapologetically me.

Keeping the curls healthy is a must. I’m not a hair expert, but when it comes to my hair hydration is key 🔑. The products that I use keep my curls hydrated and give me weightless definition. I’m a recovering product junkie 😩, so recently I’ve been trying to use the products I have before allowing myself to buy more. So far I’ve been successful, but we’ll see how long that lasts 😜. There are several brands and staple products that I always keep in rotation. I’m a bit more lenient with the ingredients in my hair care products, but the main things I avoid are parabens, phthalates, and mineral oil. You’ll find that most of the brands I use are both natural and cruelty free which is a plus. I’ve shared my staple brands below, and I’ll highlight some of the specific products I use in later posts. What are some of your favorite hair care brands?

shea-moisture-products

GroupShotHR_article

BC_Mixed_Chicks_Shampoo_1L_50962.1405385962.1280.1280__04519.1423214761.1280.1280

camille-rose-naturals-378x280

300

2 thoughts on “Natural Hair Talk Pt. 1

Leave a Reply

