My Passion for Dance

Dance

My passion. My lifeline. My first love. I know now that I was born to dance and finding it was the best thing that’s ever happened to me. It brings me so much joy and without it I feel empty. I was recently asked, “If I could go back in time, what piece of advice would I give myself one year into dancing?” I would definitely tell myself not to be afraid to express my passion for dance. I remember always treating dance as if it were a hobby because that’s what everyone else thought it was for me. I’ve since come to realize it is much more than that. Dancing will always be my safe haven. No matter what is happening in my life, I know I can “dance it out.”

There was a period (about a year) when I stopped dancing. Needless to say, it was a very difficult time. I quickly realized I needed dance to help keep myself balanced. I joined Fusion Dance Crew at North Carolina State University as a way to start dancing again. Once I started dancing again, it was like a lightbulb went off. I thought, “If I’m happiest when I’m dancing why don’t I do this for the rest of my life?” It seemed like a no-brainer. Without a doubt oining Fusion Dance Crew at North Carolina State University was one of the best decisions of my life. I’ve met so many people that share the same passion for dance as me, and they have inspired me to pursue my passion. I know this is my purpose and destiny, so here’s to believing in myself and living my dreams!

Leave a Reply

